Monday, January 23, 2012

MacArthur & Wilson Award

The International Biogeography Society
The MacArthur & Wilson Award

The Board of Directors of the International Biogeography Society (IBS) is pleased to open the competition for a new biennial Award.  Named after R. H. MacArthur and E. O. Wilson, it honors their seminal contributions to biogeography. The award will recognize an individual for a notable, innovative contribution to biogeography.  This award will be targeted at comparatively early career investigators and will have a guideline that recipients should have completed their PhD no more than 12 years before the deadline for nominations. The committee has some flexibility in regard to this criterion, to take account of differing life and career paths. A pair of collaborators might be considered providing both are eligible by this criterion.

The recipient should be prepared to offer a paper at the biennial meeting of the IBS and will be invited to publish a short article on their work in Frontiers of Biogeography. In return, their attendance at the meeting will be underwritten by the IBS.

The first award will be presented at the IBS biennial meeting in Miami, Florida, 10–12 January 2013.

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the MacArthur & Wilson Award Sub-Committee (pdf’s are preferred; no later than Friday 23rd March, 2012. An individual can be nominated for a single paper or a ‘group of papers’ and it is anticipated that such a corpus of work will involve – in the spirit of MacArthur & Wilson’s famous monograph – scholarly collaborations with other co-workers.
Nominations should consist of a supporting cover letter of no more than 800 words, co-signed by two members of the IBS, plus a short cv of the nominee, plus pdfs of four key papers published by the nominee, at least two of which should have been published within the last three years.  Current members of the IBS Board are not eligible for nomination.

Current members of this IBS sub-committee include: Pauline Ladiges, Christine Maggs, Albert Phillimore, Robert E. Ricklefs, Brett R. Riddle, Robert J. Whittaker (chair).  

For further information about the IBS, see

No comments: