Saturday, January 14, 2012

IBS Awards: Call for Nominations for the Alfred Russel Wallace Award
The ARW award was established by the International Biogeography Society (IBS) in 2004 to recognize a lifetime of outstanding contributions by an eminent scholar in any subdiscipline of biogeography. Previous recipients have included Drs. Jack Briggs, Jared Diamond, John Avise and Bob Ricklefs. Preliminary nominations consist of a letter endorsing the candidate with an abbreviated copy of their curriculum vitae. The committee reviews these materials and solicits complete nomination packets (consisting of the letter of nomination, a complete CV, and three or more letters of recommendation) for selected individuals. The selected recipient will be invited to address the society at its next biennial meeting.
We are now in the process of accepting nominations for the 2013 award. Please forward preliminary nominations to Felisa Smith (, chair of the Awards Committee, by May 1, 2012. Current members of the IBS Board are not eligible for nomination.

No comments: