Wednesday, June 4, 2014

2015 Alfred Russel Wallace Awardee - Daniel Simberloff

The IBS Board is pleased to announce that Daniel Simberloff will be the next to join the distinguished list of  recipients of the Alfred Russel Wallace Award.  The Wallace Award will be given at the upcoming IBS biennial meeting in Bayreuth, Germany (January 8th to 12th, 2015), and was established by the IBS in 2004 to recognize a lifetime of outstanding contributions by an eminent scholar in any subdiscipline of biogeography.

Daniel Simberloff received his A.B. at Harvard College in 1964 (with magna cum laude) and his Ph.D. in Biology at Harvard University in 1969, and is currently a Professor at the University of Tennessee (1997-present).  His work on island biogeography, reserve design, null models, plant-insect interactions, character displacement, biological invasions, etc., is cited in every single textbook on our shelves and his early experimental papers with E.O.Wilson are textbook classics.

Througout his career, Simberloff has never shied away from controversies in ecology and biogeography, publicly challenging the most important paradigm in ecology, biogeography and the growing field of conservation biology with his 1976 Science paper, which cautioned against making broad generalizations without sufficient data.  A former student of E.O. Wilson, and having had Robert MacArthur on his committee, Simberloff is arguably a perfect hybrid of the two – exceptionally quantitative and rigorous, while displaying a love of organisms and a passion for the preservation of biodiversity.  Simberloff’s lifelong contributions to the field have forever changed the face of biogeography, making the field as a whole, a much more rigorous science for his efforts.


The IBS Board notes with thanks the work of the Wallace Award Committee:  Felisa Smith, Catherine Badgley, Jens-Christian Svenning, Pablo A. Marquet, and Carsten Rahbek (chair)

No comments: